Thursday, May 19, 2011

2011 Team Awards Banquet

In March, The Beavers wrapped up their season with a formal and festive basketball banquet hosted by Caltech President Chameau and his wife Dr. Carmichael. Sixty supporters were in attendance to celebrate the many accomplishments of the team this past season including various faculty, staff, and alumni. Director of Executive Communications Matt Lockwood served as the evening's emcee. Coach Eslinger spoke about the development of the program, read a touching e-mail from a recent alum, and thanked all the attendees for their ongoing support. After a delicious meal prepared by Tom Mannion and poignant speech by Dr. Chameau, the coaches presented the annual team awards. All awards are voted on by members of the team.

Dr. Chameau
Longstanding awards displayed in the Braun Gym lobby:

For the third year in row, Ryan Elmquist '11 received the H.G. Vesper Trophy for ability, improvement, performance, and sportsmanship.

Todd Cramer '14 earned the Carl Shy Freshman of the Year.
Murphy organizes his horde of awards

Other award winners:

Collin Murphy '13: Leader of the Year, Mr. Glue, Mr. Hustle, and the Construction Award

Mike Paluchniak '14: Lockdown Award and Coaches' Award

Potts presents Paluchniak with one of his awards
Arjun Chandar '13: Citizen of the Year

Marcus Lucas '13: Most Improved

Mike Edwards '13: Slam Bam Jam Award

Alex Runkel '13: Best Dressed

Coach Potts: Best Quote

photo credit